Adirondack Ski Areas

The Adirondack Mountains are located in the northeast section of New York State. They are inside the border of the Adirondack Park, part of the New York State Forest Preserve. About half of the 6 million acres that make up the Adirondack Park is privately owned, even so land use is regulated.

By the late 1800s, recreation in the Adirondacks was becoming an important driver of activity in the region. In 1894, driven by water conservation issues, much of the park was designated as “Forever Wild.” Officially there are 46 peaks in the Adirondacks with elevation of over 4000 feet.

During the early years of the 1900s, nordic skiing gained popularity in the Adirondacks. Interest in skiing peaked in 1932 when Winter Olympic Games were hosted in Lake Placid. There were no alpine events at the 1932 Olympics, but the event inspired the construction of ski areas soon afterward. At one point there may have been as many as 50 ski areas in the Adirondacks.

Today there are only a handful of ski areas still operating in the Adirondacks. The list includes the Whiteface, Gore Mountain, Oak Mountain, Titus Mountain, Royal Mountain and McCauley Mountain. There are also a few town-owned rope tow ski areas in the Adirondacks.

Adirondack Ski Area Quick Stats

Ski AreaSnowfall”Vertical’
McCauley Mountain180″633′
Gore Mountain125″2537′
Oak Mountain125″650′
North Creek Ski Bowl100″998′
Indian Lake Town Hill*098″200′
Big Tupper*090″1000′
Royal Mountain090″550′
West Mountain080″1010′
Hickory Ski Center†075″1200′
Mount Pisgah060″329′
Maple Ski Ridge060″270′

* ski area closed
† stay tuned