Rooftop Tents

DomB

These things seem pretty cool.

Anyone use 'em?

Not cheap, but some of these are ready to use in less than 2 minutes. I am seriously thinking about this one:

Would love to hear about anyone's experience with a hardshell.

Best,
D

I have no experience with rooftop tents. They seem pretty pricey to me. I think GoFast Campers makes one that’s a little more reasonable though

I have no experience with rooftop tents. They seem pretty pricey to me. I think GoFast Campers makes one that’s a little more reasonable though
That is really cool. I didn't even hear about this company. But don't think I could fit the whole brood into this one.

sheesh you could probably find a really nice used pop-up tent trailer for that!

Agree that they are way overpriced and that you can find quality used pop up trailers for cheaper.

or just, you know, put a tent on the ground.

3 adults at an average of 160 pounds per is 480 pounds plus the tent itself at 160 pounds is 640 pounds, and that’s not including whatever camping supplies you put in the tent. Call it close to 700 pounds on the roof of your vehicle. That seem like a problem to anyone else? Vehicle recommended weight limit on the roof rails on our vehicles is 160 pounds. That’s quite a difference.....

Why? What is the purpose of these things? Wouldn't a regular tent do the same thing?

I understand the attraction for summer time. You’re off the ground, there’s no towing involved and they’re easy To set up. I have a Coleman pop up and it’s probably a good twenty minutes of work to get it set up, more if it’s hard to determine a level spot to park it on. On the other hand if you’re staying more then 24 hours, having the additional room and being separate from your vehicle outweighs the convenience factor of the roof top tent to me.

Last edited: